Saturday, December 12, 2015


The Ancient Words Series consists of two books: Where Can I flee (released August 13, 2014) and In The Shadow Of They Wings (December 8, 2015). Both books were independently published.  To purchase your copy of Where Can I flee, click here.  To purchase your copy of In The Shadow Of Thy Wings, click here.

BOOK INFORMATION:Ancient World Series Covers

Where Can I Flee
War is on the horizon during the spring of 1861. It will be an event that will change the lives of everyone in its path. The Harper family included.
Frank Harper is a young man full of dreams and ambitions. Even when the country is split and war breaks out, Frank will do whatever is necessary to see his dreams come true, even when that means putting on a uniform and leaving home.
For the first time, Claire Harper is forced to consider the reasons behind such a conflict. Should slavery be abolished? Which side should she be on, and what does God have to say about this? Claire is torn between her own opinions and those of her family. The struggle within her only increases when she repeatedly runs into a kind and handsome Union soldier. She longs to see her brother turn to Christ before it is too late. Desperate to reach her brother with the gospel, Claire pens a series of inspiring letters. Will she be able to handle all the obstacles of war and continue to be a witness to those around her?
How long can Claire last when her heart is torn in half and she is burdened for her brother’s soul? How long can Frank resist his sister’s urgent pleas or the gentle tugging from within? Can a man outrun a holy God?
In the Shadow of Thy Wings
Devastation sweeps across the land, and the families of Maple Grove cannot escape when war arrives at their front doors. After her father entrusts her with a new and dangerous task, Sally Chandler must find the courage to obey despite her fear. Meanwhile, her best friend, Claire Harper, is determined to serve others, even if it means putting herself in danger. But with a certain handsome Union soldier stationed nearby, Claire finds her heart in danger of falling for the enemy. Their differing loyalties create complications that neither could expect; her twin brother fighting for the Confederacy is only one of them. Frank Harper left home with one goal in mind – to become a prosperous plantation owner. Two years later, not only is he further from his goal, but he’s beginning to question his own desires–something that becomes more complicated when his heart becomes involved. The families of Maple Grove must learn how to survive the uncertainty of war and a country split in two. While the war in the nation rages on, the battle within grows stronger. Will they learn that the only safe place to hide is in the Shadow of  Thy Wings.
These two books really bring to light the struggles and hardships brought on by the Civil War.  They also show hope, love, courage, and forgiveness. I loved how the Gospel was weaved throughout the story.
The Harper family is a close knit family and this shines throughout the books – especially in Where Can I Flee.  The letters between brother and sister (twins) are both heartwarming and heart-wrenching.


By Deana Dick

Both of the books in this captivating series is filled with hope, love and struggle. I enjoyed getting to know Claire and her twin brother Frank. Claire has a deep love for God and prays daily that her dad and brother will find their relationship with Him again. The story sweeps  across an era that has long since been a favorite of mine to read about. The Civil War was hard for the troops as they were supplied with little provisions. As Claire and her brother correspond by letter while he is in the Confederate Army, you can feel the desperation that Claire feels for her brother's safety. There is much detail in the history of this war and the author has done a tremendous job of relaying those in a very detailed way. I couldn't put this series down as the author was able to transport me back to that time period with the exquisite words that held my full attention . What happens when someone sympathizes  with the other side? Will they become a traitor? Is their live in danger?

As you start the second book in the series, the author continues the story of Claire and Frank. We find a spiritual growth in the family and a secret that their dad reveals. Will this secret divide the family? The details of the Underground Railroad fascinated me and kept me emerresed in the gripping story. This is one series that has found me wanting to know more about this particular  time in history. What an amazing story that makes your heart break at some of the impossible surroundings the characters had to endure. Overall I give this outstanding series an enthusiastic five stars. Thank you for writing a masterfully written saga that reminds us of a battle that took many lives and the effects it at on the nation.

I received a copy of this book from A. M. Heath and  Celebrate Lit for an honest review.


Being raise in a small Tennessee town, A.M. Heath grew up with a love for southern history and nostalgia. She lives with her husband and four children in Southern Tennessee where they embrace the small town lifestyle.


ancient words giveaway pic


  1. Thanks for the warm review, Deana! I'm grateful that you took the time to feature my series on your blog. I'm so glad you liked it.
    And thanks for partying with me this week! ;) I loved getting to know you better!

  2. I enjoyed reading your reviews. I hope you'll stop by my blog
    It makes me want to read the books!

  3. I enjoyed reading your reviews. I hope you'll stop by my blog
    It makes me want to read the books!

  4. Thanks for the nice review of A.M. Heath books. Historical fiction during the Civil War is my favorite era as far as history goes.